Hormone cream safety in vaginal area

Options
Lorie
Lorie Member Posts: 78
Radiologist told me the hormones arent systemic when applied in that area alone. A gyno told me same thing couple years ago but I didn't think he was right I didn't check into it any further. Does anyone have info on this ?

Comments

• JaneA
    JaneA Member Posts: 335
    edited January 2020
    Options
    While I'm not a doctor, I'm pretty true that that breast cancer patients should not use hormone creams vaginally. As I understand it, hormone creams increase the risk of recurrence for breast cancer patients. You should ask your oncologist this question so that you get the correct answer.
  • Bengal
    Bengal Member Posts: 518
    edited January 2020
    Options
    Like Jane I am not a healthcare professional but I am in total agreement with her advice. Anyone with hormone receptor positive BC should stay away from any kind of hormone replacement therapy. It just doesn't make sense.
  • grammyk
    grammyk Member Posts: 11
    edited January 2020
    Options
    My oncologist prescribed me 0.5 gram of hormone cream once a week topically. It has helped greatly. I am breast hormone receptor survivor of almost 7 years.
  • Lorie
    edited January 2020
    Options
    Grammyk
    Did you know if you ER -PR positive? If so, did you have A discussion with Onc about why he thought it's ok? My Radiologist says new study shows it's not systemic when applied there. I have an acute problem that is totally unrelated to any sexual situation. I know my oncologist is going to say no but I need relief. Lorie
  • grammyk
    edited January 2020
    Options
    Lorie, yes I was Er and PR positive. I was on anastrazole for 4.5 years until I got a DVT. Yes, my oncologist discussed it with me.
  • cak61
    cak61 Member Posts: 42
    edited January 2020
    Options
    My oncologist and gynecologist said it was ok. Stays in that area. Very little gets into the system is what they said.