Let's get to know one another!

NGonzalez (STAFF)
NGonzalez (STAFF) Member, Administrator Posts: 28

Hello, Everyone! Some members have mentioned they'd really like to get the conversation going again, so let's start by getting to know each other and/or reacquainting. If you're willing, please share your name, diagnosis, how long you've been a part of the community, and anything else you'd like to share about yourself. I'll start below!

Comments

• NGonzalez (STAFF)

My name is Nicole, and I'm an admin here. I've been in advocacy for a little over 15 years, first as a social worker helping children and families navigate the foster care system in Philadelphia, PA, and I've worked in patient advocacy for 3 years. I love this work, connecting with folks, and listening to their experiences. We always say every story is important and impactful, even if it seems "small". You never know whose life you may change with your words! Outside of work, I love going to see live music with my friends and camping with my husband and our 2 kids (both in middle school this year, please send thoughts and prayers!).

• LowcountryJen1969
    LowcountryJen1969 Member Posts: 10

Hello everyone. I am Jennifer. I have been a member of the community since about mid-2020. I live in South Carolina. I have been a paralegal for about 22 years, working in various fields of law. I had my first suspicious mammogram in November 2019. I had my biopsy in early January of 2020. Initially they set me up for a lumpectomy, but had to keep chasing the margins. It was decided to do a mastectomy of my left breast. I had Stage 1 Ductal Carcinoma In Situ. The mastectomy removed all of the tissue, taking chemotherapy and radiation off the table. I know how fortunate I am. I am closing in on 5 years of therapy with Anastrazole/Arimidex.